In focus. Chinese contrasts 2011
Quattro Hong Kong 2
  • Director: Brillante Ma. MENDOZA

    was born in San Fernando, The Philippines. He studied advertising at the University of Santo Tomas in Manila. In 2005, he made his feature debut, The Masseur.

  • Director: Ho Yuhang (Malaysia)

    Was born and raised in Petaling Jaya, just outside the Malaysian capital Kuala Lumpur. He took a degree in engineering at Iowa State University in the US, but opted for a career in TV production when he returned to Malaysia. He soon began putting his training in the craft of programme-making to work in a series of personal short films and tapes. In 1999, he made the six-part documentary series Semangat Insan: Masters of Tradition. His debut feature Min followed in 2003.

  • Director: Apichatpong Weerasethakul

    was born in Bangkok in 1970. After getting his first degree in Architecture from Khon Kaen University in 1994, he did an MA in Filmmaking at The School of Art Institute of Chicago in 1997. He founded his own independent film company Kick the Machine in 1999.

  • Director: Stanley Kwan

    was born in Hong Kong in 1957. He studied at the Baptist College’s Department of Communications before working for TVB, first as an actor then later as a production man. In 1979, he left the station to work as an assistant director. He made his directorial debut in 1985 with Women.

Canada,  2011,  98 min.
Section:
In focus. Chinese contrasts

Quattro Hong Kong 2 brings together Southeast Asia’s best filmakers. From bustling Yaumatei to the city’s famed flower market, Cannes winners Apichatpong Weerasethakul (M Hotel, Thailand) and Brillante Mendoza (Purple, the Philippines) find mystery mixed with beauty. Malaysia’s Ho Yuhang lets fly his comic talents in Open Verdict, a gem about some kind of cross-border trade. And Stanley Kwan takes us on a bus trip from the airport to Kowloon in 13 Minutes in the Lives of, a trip in real time and a slice of life in today’s Hong Kong.

back

В фокусе. Контрасты Китая 2011
Quattro Hong Kong 2 | Quattro Hong Kong 2
  • Режиссёр: Бриллианте Мендоса

    родился в Сан-Фернандо, Филиппины. Изучал в университете Санто-Томас в Маниле. В 2005 снял дебютный фильм The Masseur

  • Режиссёр: Хо Юхан (Малайзия)

    Родился и вырос в городке Петалинг Джайя, недалеко от Куала-Лумпура, столицы Малайзии. Получил образование в университете штата Айова, США по специальности машиностроение, но по возвращению на родину предпочел делать карьеру на телевидении. Вскоре начал использовать навыки, полученные при создании телепрограмм, для съемок собственных короткометражных работ. В 1999 году снял шестисерийный документальный фильм "Semangat Insan: Masters of Tradition". Его дебютная картина "Min" вышла в свет в 2003 году.

  • Режиссёр: Аричаптонг Веерасетакул

    родился в Бангкоке в 1970. Окончил университет Хон Каен в 1994 г. (специальность «Архитектура»). В 1997 получил степень Магистра искусств в Киношколе Института искусств в Чикаго. Основал независмую компанию Kick the Machine в 1999 г.

  • Режиссёр: Стэнли Кван

    родился в Гонконге в 1957. Учился в Баптистском колледже, факультет коммуникаций. Работал на ТВ сперва как актер, затем в продюсерском отделе. В 1979 перешел на работу в кино ассистентом режиссера. Дебютный фильм – Women (1985).

Канада,  2011,  98 минут
Секция:
В фокусе. Контрасты Китая

Фильм о Гонконге объединил новеллы лучших восточно-азиатских режиссеров. Шумный Яуматэй и прославленный цветочный рынок - триумфаторы Каннского фестиваля Аричаптонг Веерасетакул из Таиланда (новелла «Отель М») и Бриллианте Мендоса с Филиппин («Пурпур») везде находят тайну и красоту. Малайский режиссер Хо Юхан дает волю своему комедийному таланту в новелле «Виновные не установлены», о торговле наркотиками. А Стэнли Кван, Гонконг, приглашает нас в поездку до аэропорта Каулун, которая покажет нам срез жизни современного Гонконга, и займет всего «13 минут из жизни...»

назад