Alter Scrinium. Exhibition of video and documentary «Zhachev’s declaration» 2010
Military Court and Prison
  • Director: Chen Chieh-jen (Taiwan)

    Born in 1960 in Taoyuan (Taiwan). Lives and works in Taipei. One of the most influential and popular artists of the Asian region. He is famous as the organizer of political performances. Participated in numerous international projects, including Sao Paulo Art Biennial (1998.2010), Liverpool Biennial (2006) and Triennial of Contemporary Art in Guangzhou (2008). Represented his country in the Taiwan pavilion at the Biennale in Venice.

Taiwan,  2007,  62 min.
Section:
Alter Scrinium. Exhibition of video and documentary «Zhachev’s declaration»

Large-scale project “Military court and prison” is centered on the appeal to the traumatic experience of the history of Taiwan. The artist chooses the former prison for political offenders as the object of aesthetic researches. With the advent of democratic government on Taiwan, as one might guess, this object was turned into a museum of “Human rights”.

Following the logic of his unique strategy, Chieh-jen metaphorically rehabilitates the past, filling the abandoned factory of justice, where the men`s fates were rendered, with the silent characters. They are wandering around among the dozens of documents - mostly judgments of conviction - just like ghosts. Their actions have no purpose, and they seem not to be able to understand the surrounding reality. Ultimately, this group is trying to attract attention by tipping the metallic structure of gigantic proportions. But the manifestation of resistance is invisible and completely pointless. Their resistant gesture is presented only as noise, developing in the absence of direct opponent. Thus, the mechanism of recognition is deprived of its own grounds - in the end people fall exhausted, realizing the impossibility of changes.

Alter Scrinium. Выставка видео и документального кино «Декларация Жачева» 2010
Военный суд и тюрьма | Military Court and Prison
  • Режиссёр: Чен Чижен (Тайвань (Китай))

    Родился в 1960 году в Taoyuan (Тайвань). В настоящий момент живет и работает в Тайпее. Один из самых авторитетных и востребованных художников азиатского региона. Получил известность как организатор политических перфомансов. Участник многочисленных международных проектов. В том числе: Сан-паульская Биеннале(1998,2010), Ливерпульская биеннале(2006) и триеннале современного искусства в Гуанчжоу(2008). Неоднократно представлял свою страну в составе Тайваньского павильона на биеннале в Венеции.

Тайвань (Китай),  2007,  62 минут
Секция:
Alter Scrinium. Выставка видео и документального кино «Декларация Жачева»

Масштабный проект «Военный суд и тюрьма» построен на обращении к травматическому опыту истории Тайваня. Художник выбирает объектом эстетического исследования, бывшую тюрьму – место содержания политических заключенных.

С приходом на Тайвань демократического правительства, как можно догадаться этот объект превратили в музей «Прав человека». Следуя логике своей уникальной стратегии, Чижен метафорически реконструирует прошлое — заброшенный завод правосудия, где вершились человеческие судьбы, наполняется безмолвными персонажами. Среди множества документов – в основном обвинительных приговоров – они блуждают словно призраки. Их действия не имеют никакой цели, и кажется, что они не в состоянии понять окружающую реальность. В конечном итоге эта группа пытается привлечь к себе внимание, опрокинув металлическую конструкцию гигантских размеров. Но манифестация сопротивления оказывается невидима и полностью бессмысленна. Их резистентный жест предъявляется лишь в качестве шума, разворачиваясь в отсутствии непосредственного противника. Таким образом, механизм признания лишается собственного основания – в конце концов, люди падают без сил, понимая невозможность ничего изменить.