Alter///scrinium. 10 Theses Of The Architecture. Screening Part 2011
Terence Gower. Ciudad Moderna
  • Director: Terence Gower

    Born in 1965 in British Columbia (Канада). Lives and works in New York and Mexico City.

    Selected personal exhibitionи:
    2011 — New Utopias, Galerie M + R Fricke, Berlin
    2005 — Ciudad Moderna — Laboratorio Arte Alameda, Mexico City
    1997 — Display Library, Poliester, Mexico City

    Selected group  exhibition:
    2010 — Yesterday’s Tomorrows — Musée d´art contemporain de Montréal, Montreal, QC
    2008 — Tlatelolco and the localized negotiation of future imaginaries — New Museum of Contemporary Art, New York City, NY
    2005 — America Tropical — Institut du Mexique à Paris, Paris

2004,  6 min.
Section:
Alter///scrinium. 10 Theses Of The Architecture. Screening Part

Сourtesy by Artist

In the late 30s Mexico city obtained one of the most popular types of architectural landscape inspired by modernist ideas both in public and in private buildings. Via revolutionary slogans Mexican capital declared its status as a new type of urban space that was in aesthetic unison with the most progressive ideas of the era.

It is obvious that modernism was mostly regarded as a conductor of revolutionary concepts of new social and political system creation, but in the end total ideological failure of modernism made it only an impressive decoration of bourgeois lifestyle.

Ciudad Moderna (Modern City), a movie by Terence Gower, is an unusual and vivid tour into the world of modernist architecture. With the help of author’s strategy of using different archive materials the movie is made as a sort of collage of Mexican bedroom comedy scenes that take place in elegant interior of modernist architecture; the artist analyzes architectural formation principles via certain didactic methods.

Alter///scrinium. Десять тезисов об архитектуре. Кинопоказы 2011
Теренс Гувер. Современный город | Terence Gower. Ciudad Moderna
  • Режиссёр: Теренс Гувер

    Родился в 1965 году в Британской Колумбии (Канада). Живет и работает в Нью-Йорке и Мехико.

    Избранные персональные выставки:
    2011 — New Utopias, Galerie M + R Fricke, Berlin
    2005 — Ciudad Moderna — Laboratorio Arte Alameda, Mexico City
    1997 — Display Library, Poliester, Mexico City

    Избранные груповые выставки:
    2010 — Yesterday’s Tomorrows — Musée d´art contemporain de Montréal, Montreal, QC
    2008 — Tlatelolco and the localized negotiation of future imaginaries — New Museum of Contemporary Art, New York City, NY
    2005 — America Tropical — Institut du Mexique à Paris, Paris

2004,  6 минут
Секция:
Alter///scrinium. Десять тезисов об архитектуре. Кинопоказы

Сourtesy by Artist

С конца 30-х годов прошлого века Мехико превратился в город с одним из самых актуальных на тот момент архитектурным ландшафтом — идеи модернизма стали ведущими при возведении как общественных, так несколько позже и частных зданий. В логике революционных лозунгов мексиканская столица заявляла о себе как о новом типе городского пространства, эстетически соответствуя передовым идеям эпохи.

Очевидно, что модернизм воспринимался прежде всего как проводник революционных концепций о построении новой социально-политической системы, однако в конечном счете повсеместный идеологический упадок модернизма оставил за ним роль эффектной декорации буржуазного образа жизни.

Фильм Теренса Гувера (Terence Gower) «Современный город» (Ciudad Moderna) — своеобразная, яркая экскурсия в мир города модернистской архитектуры. Используя авторскую стратегию работы с различными архивными материалами — фильм представляет собой коллаж из сцен низкопробного мексиканского фильма (bedroom comedy), где действия происходят в элегантных интерьерах модернисткой архитектуры, — художник через определенные дидактические операции подвергает специфическому анализу принципы архитектурного формообразования.