Alter///scrinium. 10 Theses Of The Architecture. Screening Part 2011
Sabine Bitter and Helmut Weber. Living Megastructures
  • Director: Sabine Bitter and Helmut Weber

    Since 1993, Vienna and Vancouver based artists Sabine Bitter and Helmut Weber have worked on projects addressing cities, architecture, and the politics of representation and of space.

    Selected projects:
    2010 — The University Paradox
    2008 — “We Declare”: Spaces of Housing
    2006 — Boulevards, Banlieues and other Samples of Decorated Histories
    2003 — Caracas, Hecho en Venezuela
    2000 — Live Like This!

2004,  25 min.
Section:
Alter///scrinium. 10 Theses Of The Architecture. Screening Part

Courtesy of Directors

At the time of Pérez Jiménez’s dictatorship there was built 23 de Enero, an enormously large living complex designed by the architect Carlos Raul Villanueva. It had about 9000 apartments uniting several residential blocks into one small city .the main goal of its construction was to change historically developed organization system of poor districts that painted a bright picture of huge social inequality and low social status of Caracas citizens. In spite of Venezuela capital landscape modification, 23 de Enero did not manage to fulfill its initial assignment just like many other similar projects, and became another illustration of revolutionary ambitions of modernist times.

After the riot against the dictator in 1958 several thousands of people occupied 4000 unfinished apartments in the complex that turned it into a symbol of social activism and self-administration initiatives. 23 de Enero became home for different organizations and social and political movements that practiced partnership and social relations building within the community.

Living Megastructures movie of Sabina Bitter and Helmut Weber is a series of marvelous interviews with different people, from social activists to district residents, where its authors tried to define the project significance and show its role in participation praxis. Besides, the situation created more than half a century ago turned out to be very much up-to-date. It refers to so called “Democracy of Partnership” doctrine of Hugo Chaves, president of Venezuela elected in 1999 who started reformation of socialist kind. The authors are interested in a range of topics concerning problematic of social relations, appropriation of property, self-organization and other phenomena that present an alternative for neoliberal logics of social structure.

Alter///scrinium. Десять тезисов об архитектуре. Кинопоказы 2011
Сабина Биттер и Хельмут Вебер. Жилые мегаструктуры | Sabine Bitter and Helmut Weber. Living Megastructures
  • Режиссёр: Сабина Биттер и Хельмут Вебер

    Творческий дуэт, сотрудничающий с 1993 года. Авторы работают в поле визуальных исследований, посвященных проблемам урбанизма, архитектуре и политической репрезентации.

    Избранные проекты:
    2010 — The University Paradox
    2008 — “We Declare”: Spaces of Housing
    2006 — Boulevards, Banlieues and other Samples of Decorated Histories
    2003 — Caracas, Hecho en Venezuela
    2000 — Live Like This!

2004,  25 минут
Секция:
Alter///scrinium. Десять тезисов об архитектуре. Кинопоказы

Courtesy of Directors

В эпоху диктатуры Переса Хименеса по проекту архитектора Carlos Raul Villanueva был воздвигнут грандиозный по своим масштабам жилой комплекс 23 de Enero. Объединив несколько жилых блоков, этот локальный, небольшой город насчитывал около 9000 квартир. Основной задачей строительства было изменить исторически сложившуюся систему организации бедных районов, представляющих собой яркую иллюстрацию сильного социального расслоения и низкого социального статуса основного населения Каракаса. Несмотря на изменение архитектурного ландшафта венесуэльской столицы за счет реализации современных на тот момент архитектурных проектов, 23 de Enero, как и многие подобные инициативы, не решили изначально поставленных социальных задач, став отчасти 53 очередной иллюстрацией революционных амбиций модернизма.

После восстания в 1958 году против диктатора несколько тысяч людей заняли 4000 недостроенных апартаментов в комплексе, что превратило комплекс в символ социального активизма и инициатив самоорганизации — 23 de Enero стал местом, где обосновались различные организации и социально-политические движения, реализующие практики соучастия и конструирования социальных связей внутри сообщества.

Фильм Living Megastructures, Сабины Битер и Хельмута Вебера — серия блестящих интервью с разными людьми от социальных активистов до жителей самого района, в котором авторы предприняли попытку определить значимость проекта и представить его роль в партиципативных практиках. Более того, сама ситуация, созданная полвека назад, оказалась крайне актуальной в рамках современности — так называемая «Демократия соучастия», доктрина избранного в 1999 году президента Венесуэлы Уго Чавеса, который начал проводить реформы социалистического толка. В центре внимания авторов ряд вопросов, включающих проблематизацию таких явлений, как социальные отношения, апроприация собственности, самоорганизация и другие практики, выступающие альтернативой организации общества в логике неолиберальных систем.