Alter///scrinium. 10 Theses Of The Architecture. Screening Part 2011
Jean-Louis Schuller. Chungking Dream
  • Director: Jean-Louis Schuller

    Born in 1979 in Luxembourg. Lives and works in London.

    Selection filmography:
    2010 — High / Low (HD, Samsa Film, dir. Sam Blair & Jean-Louis Schuller)
    2007 — Elephants (D-20 HD, NFTS Prod., dir. Sally Pearce)(director of photography)
    2005 — Gemini (DVcam/Pro35, IAD Prod., dir. Jacques Molitor) (director of photography)

2008,  17 min.
Section:
Alter///scrinium. 10 Theses Of The Architecture. Screening Part

Courtesy by National Audiovisual Centre,Luxembourg

Hong Kong, one of the largest and overpopulated megalopolises in the world, represents the most exact and in some way idealized portrait of modern times. It is a multinational and eclectic city with residents of different origin and social background. Being one of the world financial capitals, Hong Kong with its unique history makes true a certain myth of multiculturalism as an adequate relationships type within a body of society.

The narration of Chungking Dream is centered around so called Chungking Mansions that were a home for people coming to Hong Kong in order to chase their ambitions and become a part of modern megalopolis reality. Despite a low social level of its residents, the Mansions represent a unique living space where people of different nationalities and cultural background live together in peace.

By skilful mixing of short interviews with aesthetic pictures of Mansions specific architecture, in his cinematographic story Jean-Louis Schull- er creates a profound metaphor of an ark, a limited space where wide-spread social controversy disappears.

Alter///scrinium. Десять тезисов об архитектуре. Кинопоказы 2011
Жан-Луи Шуллер. Чунцинская мечта | Jean-Louis Schuller. Chungking Dream
  • Режиссёр: Жан-Луи Шуллер

    Родился в 1979 году в Люксембурге. Живет и работает в Лондоне.

    Избранная фильмография:
    2010 — High / Low (HD, Samsa Film, dir. Sam Blair & Jean-Louis Schuller)
    2007 — Elephants (D-20 HD, NFTS Prod., dir. Sally Pearce)(director of photography)
    2005 — Gemini (DVcam/Pro35, IAD Prod., dir. Jacques Molitor) (director of photography)

2008,  17 минут
Секция:
Alter///scrinium. Десять тезисов об архитектуре. Кинопоказы

Courtesy by National Audiovisual Centre, Luxembourg

Один из самых крупных и, соответственно, перенаселенных мегаполисов мира — Гонконг — это наиболее точный, в некотором смысле идеализированный портрет современности — многонациональный, эклектичный город, где живут представители самых разных национальностей и социальных слоев. Будучи одной из мировых финансовых столиц, Гонконг с его уникальной историей воплотил в себе определенный миф о мультикультурализме как адекватной форме отношений внутри социального тела.

В центре повествования, фильма «Чунцинская мечта» так называемый Чунцинский доходный дом (Chungking Mansions), ставший пристанищем для людей, приехавших в Гонконг в поисках реализации своих намерений интегрироваться в реальность современного мегаполиса. Несмотря на низкий социальный статус жителей, дом представляет собой уникальное пространство жизни, где, сохраняя миролюбивую атмосферу, бок о бок живут люди разных национальностей и культурных традиций.

Посредством изящного сопряжения в пространстве кинематографического повествования, небольших интервью с жителями и эстетизированного изображения своеобразной архитектуры доходного дома Жан-Луи Шуллер рисует проникновенную метафору ковчега — локального пространства, где возможно снятие тех социальных противоречий, которые стали повсеместными во всем мире.