Alter///scrinium. 10 Theses Of The Architecture. Exhibition Part 2011
Absalon. Solution
  • Director: Absalon

    Was born in 1964 in Ashdod, Israel. He relocated to Paris in 1987 where he was living and working until his premature death in 1993.

    Selected personal exhibitions
    2010  —  2011  —  Absalon (KW Institute of Contemporary Art,  Berlin)
    1997  —  Absalon (Zurich, Ksthalle)
    1990  —  Cellules, Galerie Crousel-Robelin / BAMA, Paris

    Selected group exhibitions
    2006  —  2nd Bienal Internacional de Arte Contemporбneo de Sevilla
    1998  —  11th Biennale of Sydney
    1992  —  documenta 9  —  Documenta, Kassel

1992,  8 min.
Section:
Alter///scrinium. 10 Theses Of The Architecture. Exhibition Part

Courtesy of Galerie Chantal Crousel, Paris

In 1992 a French artist of Israeli origin, working under a penname Absalon, created Cellules, a prototype line of original individually-planned houses. Minimalistic constructions made of primitive geometric elements and covering at most 10 square meters were to find their home in Paris, New York, Zurich, Tel-Aviv, Frankfurt and Tokyo. Cellules buildings have become a logical finale of an original artistic strategy that its author has been developing over his short and dynamic career. Cellules are based on synthetic concept, where individualism as an antithesis of solidarity be- comes a major force resisting public management and power enforcement. The unique nature of this artistic method is in its alternative approach to the general utopian concept via creating an anti-modernist view on the ways of social controversy neutralization. All famous utopian projects are based on the solidarity idea making it a fundamental base of its fulfillment; thus, the utopia makes a person quite an insignificant part of a certain totality, that is collective consciousness.

Absalon’s radical criticism is an extreme life personification on a deeper level than a simple decoration. The whole work of the artist is devoted to an individual as a central piece, being directly linked to one’s personal experience, including a physical one. Each Cellules was designed according to the proportions of the artist himself. This way Absalon offers a radical neglect of unification as a method used for modernist conceptual basis. If Le Corbusier with his “modulor” offered a certain unique measurement, pointing at architecture being a space of people’s direct involvement with each other, Absalon in his turn created “anti-modulor” as a human-dependent design system with the use of extremely reduced language of modernist form creation.

Solution, the name itself referring to a certain didactics, without any aesthetics of author’s narration presents a kind of guidelines for using this living space. This video is a sample of author’s strategy initiated by his desire to canonize individualism and its radical form, solitude, as the only way of existence.

Alter///scrinium. Десять тезисов об архитектуре. Выставка 2011
Абсалон. Решения | Absalon. Solution
  • Режиссёр: Абсалон

    Родился в 1964 году в Ашдоде (Израиль). Переехал в Париж в 1987 году, где жил и работал до своей преждевременной смерти в 1993 году.

    Избранные персональные выставки:
    2010  —  2011  —  Absalon (KW Institute of Contemporary Art,  Berlin)
    1997  —  Absalon (Zurich, Ksthalle)
    1990  —  Cellules, Galerie Crousel-Robelin / BAMA, Paris

    Избранные групповые выставки:
    2006  —  2nd Bienal Internacional de Arte Contemporбneo de Sevilla
    1998  —  11th Biennale of Sydney
    1992  —  documenta 9  —  Documenta, Kassel

1992,  8 минут
Секция:
Alter///scrinium. Десять тезисов об архитектуре. Выставка

Courtesy of Galerie Chantal Crousel, Paris

В 1992 году французский художник израильского происхождения, известный под псевдонимом Абсалон, создает серию прототипов оригинальных индивидуальных жилищ, названных Cellules. Минималистичные сооружения, образованные из пересечения простых 9 геометрических форм, площадью не более 10 квадратных метров предполагалось разместить в Париже, Нью-Йорке, Цюрихе, Тель-Авиве, Франкфурте и Токио. Cellules стали логическим завершением оригинальной художественной стратегии, разрабатываемой автором в течение его короткой, стремительно развивающейся карьеры. В основе Cellules лежит синтетическая концепция, где индивидуализм — в противовес солидарности — становится основой реализации сопротивления социальному управлению и актам отправления власти. Уникальность художественного метода — в оригинальном переосмыслении общей концепции утопизма через создание полярного модернизму взгляда на способы снятия социальных противоречий. Все известные утопические проекты выстраиваются на идее солидарности, закладывая ее как нерушимый фундамент собственной реализации, тем самым утопия оставляет за личностью весьма незначительную роль носителя части некой тотальности, именуемой коллективным сознанием.

Радикальная критика модернизма по Абсалону — предельная персонификация пространства жизни, но не через декоративные приемы, а на более глубоком уровне. Вся практика художника отводила индивидуальному центральное место, была непосредственно связана с личным опытом, в том числе и чисто физическим. Каждая Cellules разрабатывалась исходя из пропорций тела самого художника. Таким образом, Абсалон предложил радикальную отмену унификации — метода, на котором отчасти выстраивалась концептуальная база модернизма. И если Ле Корбюзье, разработав «модулор», предлагал некую универсальную меру, указывая на то, что архитектура — это пространство непосредственной сопричастности людей друг другу, то Абсалон создавал, в свою очередь, «антимодулор» — зависимую от индивидуальных особенностей человека систему проектирования, используя при этом редуцированный до крайности язык модернистского формообразования.

В «Решениях» — название само по себе уже отсылает к определенной дидактике — пренебрегая какой-либо эстетизацией повествования, автор представляет инструкцию по непосредственному использованию созданного им пространства для жизни. Это видео — срез авторской стратегии, инициированный желанием сакрализировать индивидуальность и ее радикальную форму — одиночество — как единственный путь существования.